/Four eliminated after Talladega controversy

Four eliminated after Talladega controversy

TALLADEGA, Ala. — Another controversial finish determined the next round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

NASCAR’s final eight drivers — Joey Logano, who won the race under caution at Talladega Superspeedway, Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch — were determined when a crash unfolded during a green-white-checkered Sunday.

Logano swept all three races in round two, leading Dale Earnhardt Jr. — who had to win to advance — on the final restart before the caution flag flew.

Harvick, who warned via radio his No. 4 Chevrolet was blowing up after earlier in the race worrying his engine was going to expire, then later reporting he thought he had a broken exhaust pipe, checked up on the final restart. Then, he moved back down the track and bumped another car, setting off a chain-reaction crash as cars crossed the start/finish line. That caused the field to be frozen under caution, giving the win to Logano and eliminating Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and…

Read Story

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons